The Institutional Policy & Planning Committee advises the President with regard to strategic planning, taking a comprehensive view of significant matters facing the College. In doing so, it serves as the central deliberative body for all-college governance. More specifically, IPPC advises the President on all policy areas, with primary responsibility for those areas beyond the purview of faculty governance (such as budget and financial planning, benefits, environmental issues, admissions and financial aid, student affairs, and advancement).

During the 2014-2015 academic year IPPC met 13 times.

(December 5, April 3, May 1)

IPPC began to consider three potential models for the financial aid budget because the rate of growth for financial aid poses challenges to the College. It was agreed to pursue an intermediate path that foresees gradual increases in the financial aid budget. This year special steps were undertaken to increase yield.

=b 'h\Y'Yj Ybh

test basis, increasing this investment over time if performance merits it. These recommendations are non-binding for the Board of Trusties.

(February 13, February 27, April 17, May 11 by email)

CEPP presented to IPPC its recommendation for the discontinuation of MALS based on a report of January 2015 by the CEPP subcommittee on MALS (building on earlier internal and external reviews) that the MALS program in its current form was no longer academically and financially viable. The report also recommends that the College should strongly consider the role of graduate studies in future strategic planning. It was agreed that CEPP and IPPC issue a joint motion recommending closure. CEPP and IPPC also co-sponsored a joint motion to express gratitude to the people associated with MALS. After circulating a joint motion by email IPPC passed the MALS resolution unanimously on May 11.

(December 5, January 30)

Concluding a process that had begun over a year ago and that also included faculty input from IPPC faculty representatives, SGA President Bennett presented a revised SGA Constitution draft in January, which met unanimous IPPC approval.

(February 27, April 3, May 1)

In the context of a multi-year FEC-led effort to enhance efficiency in the shared governance system FEC initiated a discussion regarding IPPC subcommittees. In particular, IPPC and its subcommittees discussed whether certain IPPC subcommittees might be abolished or combined or their memberships reduced. After review several subcommittees (Campus Sustainability Subcommittee, Subcommittee on Responsible Citizenship (SRC), and the Assessment Subcommittee) agreed to reduce their membership. Abolishment of the SRC will be considered, depending on the future of Project Pericles and the next *Strategic Plan.* The future role of the Committee on Intercultural and Global Understanding (CIGU) will depend on the new position of Chief Diversity Officer.

(December 5, May 1)

# (September 19, December 5)

Work on the new hazing policy began by the Student Affairs Subcommittee during the 2013-2014 academic year continued. Hk c byk 'g\mathbf{y}\mathbf{g}\mathbf{p}\mathbf{g}\mathbf{p}\mathbf

#### (October 3, 31)

The policy was revised after considering the comments made at a town hall meeting for staff. On days that the weather makes traveling to campus difficult but the College is open, staff could ig Y'UÎ Zcunb 'Xuh Yyk Yyb'8 Ywa VYf' WbX'A UW' '%'

## (September 19, December 19)

After several discussions in the Budget & Finance Subcommittee and in IPPC, Skidmore decided to increase the wages paid to student workers beginning January 1. Although the College was not legally obliged to do so, Skidmore is committed to paying market wages.

## (September 19, February 27, April 3)

Prompted by recent incidences and campus conversations, IPPC returned to the topic of sexual and gender-based misconduct. The College has been working on our policies for at least the last six years and will continue to do so. Two consultants have reviewed our policies and provided recommendations. Campus forums, a Webinar for alumni, and a conference call with the Board of Trustees were held in the spring. The College has a Sexual and Gender-Based Misconduct Resources and Information website:

Sam Harris Ñ), SGA for Financial Affairs

Karen Kellogg, Associate Dean of Faculty, Chair of SRC

Bill Lewis, Philosophy, Chair of CEPP

Ting Li, Management & Business, for FEC (Fall 2014)

Mehmet Odekon, Economics, Chair of FEC (Spring 2015)

Viviana Rangil, Modern Foreign Languages & Literatures, Co-chair of CIGU

Monigue Smith, Administrative Support for IPPC

Joseph Stankovich, Director of Institutional Research

Michael West, Vice President for Finance & Administration

Joshua C. Woodfork, Executive Director, Office of the President & Coordinator, Strategic Initiatives

#### Term Positions

Joerg Bibow, Economics, Faculty Representative

Barbara Black, English, Faculty Representative (Spring 2015)

Timothy Harper, Management & Business, Faculty Representative (Fall 2014)

Wendy Kercull, Special Programs, Support Staff Representative

Kathy Kinnin, Information Technology, Admin/Prof Representative

Dan Nathan, American Studies, Faculty Representative (Spring 2015)

Chair Philip A. Glotzbach, President

Vice Chair Tim Harper, Management & Business, Faculty Representative

## Members by Position

Mary Lou Bates, Vice President and Dean of Admissions and Financial Aid

April Bernard, Chair, Committee on Educational Policies and Planning (CEPP)

Beau Breslin, Dean of the Faculty & Vice President for Academic Affairs

Paul Calhoun, Dean of Special Programs

Michael Casey, Vice President for Advancement

Gail Cummings-Danson, Interim Dean of Students and Vice President for Student Affairs

Bill Duffy, Chief Technology Officer

Julia Elstein 1967, SGA VP for Financial Affairs

Karen Kellogg, Co-Chair of SRC and Space Planning Working Group, and Chair of Campus Sustainability

Elzbieta Lepkowska-White, Co-Chair, Committee on Intercultural and Global Understanding (CIGU)

Eric Morser, Co-Chair, Subcommittee on Responsible Citizenship (SRC)

Levi Rogers, Chair, Campus Sustainability Subcommittee (CSS)

Denise Smith, Chair