FACULTY MEETING April 27, 2012

MOTION

The Department of Sociology, Anthropology, and Social Work moves that Skidmore College create three separate departments: the Department of Anthropology, the Department of Social Work, and the Department of Sociology.

Rationale

Currently, the three programs in the Department of Sociology, Anthropology, and Social Work offer distinct, self-contained majors and minors with separate curricula and no overlapping courses or requirements. In addition, Social Work is accredited by the Council on Social Work Education and must follow a strict set of educational policies and accreditation standards that have reinforced its stand-alone presence. Thus, for curricular purposes the programs already operate as distinct entities.

In many ways t

chair of Social Work will continue to receive a 25 percent release, so there will be no change in the total number of administrative releases.