FACULTY DEVELOPMENT COMMITTEE ANNUAL REPORT 2006 – 2007

Membership 2006 – 2007 Mary Ann Foley, Professor of Psychology Katie Hauser, Associate Professor of Art History Mark Hofmann, Associate Dean of the Faculty Kate Leavitt, Chair, Associate Professor of Art Aldo Vacs, Professor of Government

Membership 2007 – 2008

of procedures and guidelines to assist the committee in their deliberations. We are looking forward to having Jill Jones as the committee secretary for 2007 - 2008.

The FDC created new guidelines for Faculty/Student Research opening the possibilities for teams from all disciplines across the campus. These new guidelines were, in part, influenced by the open forum conducted by FDC during the 05/06 academic year. This summer 18 students worked with faculty on campus. Six first year students also worked with faculty funded by the FYE's Mellon Grant. Ten grants could not be funded due to limited resources. Enhanced funding for Faculty/Student collaboration is necessary to continue a rich program and will be discussed in the FDC in the upcoming year.

The FDC was asked to review applications for additional sabbatical funding. A Mellon Grant and DOF ad hoc funds provided this funding from the Dean of Faculty Office. Faculty eligible for sabbatical for 2007 – 08 were asked to submit applications including a narrative of intent for the sabbatical and a budget. The committee reviewed these applications. Recommendations were made to the Associate Dean of the Faculty. This review process created a level of transparency as to the total resources available for