Committee on Academic Freedom and Rights (CAFR) Annual Report, 2006-2007

The Committee on Academic Freedom and Rights met as a whole 23 times during the 2006-2007 academic year.

Five students approached the committee with potential grievances. In one case no action was taken; two other complaints were taken up by

Five faculty approached the committee. Three of them decided not to initiate a although one of these may approach the committee again next year. One other complaint led to an informal inquiry. The fifth faculty inquiry came very late i academic year, and will be taken up by the committee in the fall.

CAFR also made three policy recommendations this year, regarding:

- 1. Part One.X of the Faculty Handbook.
- 2. Part Six of the Faculty Handbook.
- 3. College policy on student grade grievances.

The committee wishes to record, in this annual report, our collective concern the will not be able to function as the arbiter of academic freedom and rights violate effectively in the future as it has in the past. CAFR was denied access to a doct committee reasonably believed was necessary to properly conduct the inquiry in the complaint brought to us by a faculty member. The committee was also denied unmediated access to the person who compiled this document. As a result, that inquiry failed to be satisfactorily resolved. CAFR's Operating Code specifies the following: "In the pursuit of its duties the committee may seek information and the cooperation of students, faculty, and administration." In light of this year's inquiry, it appears that the committee can no longer be confident, as it always habout its unlimited access to requisite and appropriate information.

CAFR Members, 2006-2007

2007: Ruth Copans

Mary Stange, Chair

2008: Susannah Mintz

Richard Lindemann

2009: Richard Hihn

Lynda Vargha

2007: Sarah Palomba '07

Brittany Souza '08 (Fall only) Cameron Dunn '08 (Spring only)

CAFR Members, 2007-2008

2008: Richard Lindemann (On Leave Fall)

Susannah Mintz

Monica Raveret-Richter (Fall only)

2009: Richard Hihn

Lynda Vargha, Chair

2010: Alice Dean

Lenora de la Luna